Curating

If you go back and look at my PKM graphic, when it comes to making sense of my information you will see I have four tools listed.

  1. Google Drive
  2. Zotero
  3. Evernote
  4. Delicious

I listed them in the order that I feel most comfortable using. Google Drive is my favorite. It is cloud storage. The apps that can run within the google docs seem endless. Some of my regular usage includes: creating files for storing articles, creating documents with links for future reference, adding notes to documents and collaboration.

Zotero is an app that I absolutely NEED to get better at. I feel like a grumpy old lady every time I try using it. I think this is because I am so comfortable using Google Drive that I can’t help but want to solely rely on it. My goal is to be comfortable with it by summer’s end.

Evernote and Delicious are both enticing apps. Who doesn’t want to be more organized and have everything at their finger tips?! I’m just not completely sure how to maximize the power of both these tools. My plan is to use them both equally until I develop a preference for one over the other.

What are your curating preferences?

2 Comments

  1. I really appreciate how you described curating your personal knowledge. It is so important to start with items you are comfortable with and gradually challenge yourself with new digital supports.

  2. I, too, feel a draw to both Evernote and Delicious. The real benefit of delicious is in sharing on the macro-level. Evernote has no way of easily sharing a collection of related articles, like this:

    https://delicious.com/bonni208/privacy

    However, with Evernote, I can record audio, capture through multiple sources, and email notes to myself. I tend to use delicious for web links and evernote for stand-alone PDFs.

    If Evernote ever comes up with the ability to share multiple articles tagged with the same subject, that would make me stick with that tool, exclusively.

Leave a Reply

