Can a monkey punch someone in the face?

Let’s start this post with a hilarious, TRUE account of a conversation I had today. We were on the bus on the way back to school from the LA Zoo.

Kid: What’s on your face?
Me: Where?
Kid: Under your eye
Me: Oh no. Is my make up all smeared? (I check my face. Nope. Looks normal)
Me: I think you must mean my make-up. It’s called eyeliner.
Kid: Oh. It looks like you got punched in the face.
Me: What?! It looks like I got punched in the face?!
Another kid: Legend says Mrs. Roach got punched in the face at the zoo.
Parent sitting behind me: By a monkey

Everyone including myself started cracking up, while repeating the hilarious scenario we were all picturing in our minds. “Mrs. Roach got punched in the face by a monkey.”

Ok. Moving on. Can a monkey punch someone in the face? What are some facts about monkeys? Can a first grader research monkey facts online if I wanted them to?

Let’s be real for a minute. My first graders are practically second graders at this point in the school year. Right now I think I could assign a research task for them to do. I just finished reading a short article about using google search to filter information by reading level. Be sure to click here to read this short piece.

I tested it out and was pleased with the results. I think teaching kids about this filter will be really powerful in the classroom.

 

 

Image

Oh and by the way…YES, a monkey can punch someone in the face. Click on the picture to watch.

Image

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. This was a great read Lindsey! What a funny story!
    I think you’re right, your 1st/almost 2nd graders probably could complete a research task. It’s amazing what kids can do when we give them access and believe in them. And with the tech tools that are out there that filter reading levels this definitely provides more access to more kids.
    Thanks for sharing this resource, and for sharing a great story!

  2. Pingback: Don’t Let This Happen to You | Can't Stop...Won't Stop...Learning!

  3. I had no idea you could search by reading level on Google. Seriously amazing. On a different note… If you want a really good laugh… Actually, a number of laughs, listen to Julia Sweeney talking to her daughter about having “the talk” with her. A cautionary note about the pros and cons of a Google search:

  4. I forgot to mention how hilarious your post is… Kids are so funny. My son is obsessed with the idea that a fire truck will come and help you if you’re hurt. I was commenting to Dave (my husband) how much my neck and back hurt right now. I spent too much time sitting in a chair yesterday, grading, and not enough time on the treadmill desk.

    So, our son naturally became very excited, talking about how the firetruck was going to come and help Mommy with her hurt back/neck… We keep trying to explain that the fire truck only comes if someone’s in really bad shape. I guess we probably don’t want to encourage him too much on this, lest he decide to do something that would make them come for a visit.

Leave a Reply

