The next-generation science standards are said to be “three-dimensional.” What that means is that there are three parts to the standards: the topics that are covered, call disciplinary core ideas, the things that hold all the branches of science together, called the crosscutting concepts, and the methods that scientists and engineers use to go about discovering things and answering questions, called science and engineering practices.

For a list of disciplinary core ideas, crosscutting concepts, and science and engineering practices, or for a more detailed explanation of any of them, visit the sites below.

Disciplinary Core Ideas

Crosscutting Concepts

Science and Engineering Practices


View original post


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s